Home > My Rhymes > The Mermaid Bride

The Mermaid Bride


This poem is in response to The Mag image below:

 

 

This got me thinking about a river flowing to the ocean and the following salty tale ensued:

 

 

 

Well, I sits on the beach

Just a’watchin the tide

And mourns o’er the loss

O’ my sweet mermaid bride

 

On the schooner “Allegro”

O’ Nantucket, Mass

I first laid me eyes

On that fair- flippered lass

 

I was standin’ me watch

In the dead o’ the night

When she rose from the sea

With a phosphoric light

 

‘Twas a vision in beauty

A sailor’s true wish

The North of her, woman

The South of her, fish

 

Her hair was of seaweed

And it bobbed to ‘n fro

As her scales softly shone

In the moon’s silver glow

 

With songs of a siren

To her pearl covered bed

She wooed me, seduced me

And then we was wed

 

We was married by Neptune

The seafarer’s God

Me groomsmen was mack’rel

The bridesmaids was cod

 

Then its two years ‘n twenty

Of marital bliss

At least so’s I thought

‘Til she hits me with this:

 

“I’m leavin’,” says she

“With a dolphin named Dan

Ain’t I don’t love you

He’s just more of a man”

 

“He’s slicker ‘n thicker

And slow where you’re quicker

A flick of his fluke

And my flame’s all a’ flicker “

 

Then with nary a wave

And just barely a splash

She swam to her beau

And was gone in a flash

 

Now, I sits on the beach

Just a’ watchin’ the tide

And mourns o’er the loss

O’ my sweet mermaid bride

  1. May 6, 2012 at 6:28 PM

    slicker and thicker…dang it is all about size and they have been lying to me….smiles…how is she still sweet after that…smiles…

  2. May 6, 2012 at 6:52 PM

    Huzzah! Most excellent!
    And that’s from one pirate to, clearly, another………

    Well done, mate!

  3. May 6, 2012 at 7:34 PM

    nice ballad. it really has the sense of a period piece.

    the river

  4. May 6, 2012 at 8:31 PM

    Charming story, and so well done,

    =)

  5. Karen S.
    May 7, 2012 at 1:22 AM

    Oh my what a creative story, and your added photo is incredible!

  6. May 7, 2012 at 3:59 AM

    You have such a wonderful imagination. Well done!

  7. May 7, 2012 at 4:18 AM

    A truly magnificent Old Salt’s Tale – or even ‘tail’?! A wonderful salmon leap away from the prompt picture!

  8. Tess Kincaid
    May 7, 2012 at 1:22 PM

    Lyrical and totally fun…

  9. Helen
    May 7, 2012 at 3:07 PM

    Love your take on the Stainforth image ++ your image too!

  10. May 7, 2012 at 7:00 PM

    Brava!

  11. May 8, 2012 at 3:42 AM

    There seems to have been a mass exodus to WordPress lately – or am I imagining things? I’m impressed with its posh, automated emails, that’s for sure! hehehe! But I’m not tempted to desert BLogger just yet…
    After my first comment, I thought I’d asked for ‘ Notify me of new post’, then discovered I’d ticked the wrong box, and was inundated with your comments…silly me! All should now be well. :)

  12. May 8, 2012 at 6:53 AM

    Neatly into it! Love the well-told tale.

  13. May 9, 2012 at 5:06 PM

    What a delight to read!

  14. June 3, 2012 at 11:18 PM

    Just stopping by to see how you’re doing.

  15. June 14, 2012 at 1:48 PM

    I LOVE THIS! Very well done…I could smell the salty air and hear the roar of the sea as I read it….hugs to you. I have missed your talents.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

