Home > About Rhyming, My Rhymes > War of Words

War of Words


Sometimes, it’s hard to keep the peace among the elements in a line.

My verb and object disagreed
It was a heated fight
I tried my best to mediate
But couldn’t make it right

The harshest struggles in a line
Are often intramural
The verb, you see, was singular
The object being plural

And so I sought an adjective
To help diffuse the fray
“I modify, not mollify”
Was all it had to say


This poem linked to Poets United.


  1. February 23, 2011 at 10:10 PM

    ha…some fun word play…enjoyed the read…

  2. February 24, 2011 at 12:32 PM

    Thanks, Brian…appreciate the feedback. Vb

  3. February 25, 2011 at 3:08 AM

    Hey, I liked it..like doodling but with purpose! You should link it in to Friday Poetically at OneStop…it’s in theme.

  4. March 6, 2011 at 5:51 PM

    Excellant! 😀

  5. March 6, 2011 at 6:51 PM

    I liked this very much. A very nice lilt with your wonderful words!
    Best wishes, Eileen

  6. March 6, 2011 at 10:13 PM

    This was a fun read. We poets have a tendency to bend many rules of grammar when we try to rhyme. It is rather frustrating to rhyme and be correct. But i liked the wordplay and the way you made it fun.

  7. March 7, 2011 at 5:46 PM

    As a poet and writer, I am always playing games with words. It is what I love!

  8. March 8, 2011 at 9:59 PM

    I tried to register to your rss provider, but had a problem appending it to google right ascension

  9. March 10, 2011 at 10:56 AM

    love the word play..

    cheers.
    🙂

  10. June 5, 2011 at 2:45 PM

    I really enjoyed this. Your cleverness made me smile.

  11. June 5, 2011 at 9:19 PM

    So fun I had to read it twice, now for the third time.

  12. June 8, 2011 at 8:24 PM

    Oh those grammatical fracases! I’ve frequently had to split infinitives because they just couldn’t get along!

    • June 8, 2011 at 8:26 PM

      Or…as I like to say…I like to *sometimes* split infinitives!

  13. June 9, 2011 at 2:46 PM

    I do so love your juggling with words. 🙂

  14. June 11, 2011 at 11:40 AM

    An elementary, but fun grammar lesson. I loved “intramural” – it was the perfect word to suggest so much – and the word play of modify and mollify. Thanks!

    Richard

  15. June 15, 2011 at 10:59 AM

    Brilliant and really original! Who would have thought to write a poem about fighting words. This poem was really cool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

