Home > My Rhymes, My Top Ten > The Wart On Jenny’s Nose

The Wart On Jenny’s Nose


x

The female form is glorified in written word and song

From gently curving bosoms to legs so lithe and long

Yet, of all the charms appealing from tresses down to toes

There’s none that strike my fancy like the wart on Jenny’s nose

 

Resting on the very tip for all the world to see

It runs from brown to purple and is textured like a pea

Perched upon the precipice as if about to fall

It makes her look quite like a seal who’s balancing a ball

 

She doesn’t try to hide it and she won’t have it removed

She says it makes her special and I think her point’s been proved

It whispers not of vanity, but screams of depth within

Perfection’s not a virtue, nor is a flaw a sin

 

If beauty really rests within each beholder’s eye

Then we needn’t all appear the same and shouldn’t even try

True beauty’s point and counterpoint…thorns enhance the rose

And nothing’s as beguiling as the wart on Jenny’s nose

x

This poem is linked to One Stop Poetry.

  1. June 7, 2011 at 4:57 PM

    This is wonderful…definitely not off your game, I’d say right on! 🙂

    • June 7, 2011 at 5:54 PM

      Thanks, P-cat appreciate the positive reinforcement! Vb

  2. dustus
    June 7, 2011 at 6:22 PM

    Awesome. “It makes her look quite like a seal who’s balancing a ball” lol smiles

  3. June 7, 2011 at 6:26 PM

    What a lovely little poem. Their are too many people that obsess about looks.
    ‘True beauty’s point and counterpoint…thorns enhance the rose’
    Perfect!!

  4. June 7, 2011 at 6:27 PM

    Oops! That would be “There” not “their”. Sorry…

    • June 7, 2011 at 6:39 PM

      Thanks…no subtractions for spelling around here

  5. June 7, 2011 at 7:00 PM

    this gave me big smiles…to see beyond to the beauty within…so true…

  6. June 7, 2011 at 10:01 PM

    Awesome, a lovely refreshing poem! I’m tired of everyday women feeling the need for plastic surgery – dare to be different and go old with grace! I hope this poem is read countless times and stops many females in their ridiculous tracks with regard to the perfection they have bought into.

  7. June 7, 2011 at 10:23 PM

    You have outdone yourself on this one VB. I love it, the perfect message delivered in the perfect melody of poetry. Beautiful write my friend! ~ Rose

  8. June 7, 2011 at 10:49 PM

    Very cool.

  9. June 7, 2011 at 11:02 PM

    You could teach the world a thing or two 🙂

  10. June 7, 2011 at 11:39 PM

    I love it! Awesome message and it’s so fun to read:-)

  11. earlybird
    June 8, 2011 at 2:27 AM

    What a result from a rather unpromising subject! Point made with great humour and good verse. Well done, Vb.

    (I just wondered if l2 in v3 should be says rather than say?)

  12. Tino
    June 8, 2011 at 3:46 AM

    First smile of the day goes to………. yep, you got it.

    Amusing, but also poignant

  13. June 8, 2011 at 6:31 AM

    good perspective. and i’ll never see a wart in quite the same way 🙂

  14. June 8, 2011 at 8:20 AM

    Wow you rhyming I can appreciate
    And yes one shouldn’t depreciate
    Just to look the same as all the rest
    Who says what’s the best
    As in the eye on one
    May be better and more fun
    Then that of someone else who happens by
    So why live a lie

  15. June 8, 2011 at 4:18 PM

    I don’t know which I like better – Jenny’s nose or your poem! The playful, lilting style left me smiling and feeling better for having read it. And yes, I really like Jenny. My only critique here is that the word “Quite” (4th line, 2nd stanza) isn’t necessary and the line reads better without it, both for meaning and for tempo. Other than that, I wouldn’t change a thing – this one’s a winner. Have you thought of putting it to music? It would make a great little pub piece, perhaps to Irish or East-coast hillbilly style music. My grandchildren would LOVE singing this!! Actually, so would I… 🙂

    • June 8, 2011 at 5:49 PM

      You know, sometimes when I read it I think it needs to be there…and other times I agree with you. Think, I’ll sleep on it and revisit later. Thanks for the constructive feedback…I know we are loathe do do that sometimes. Vb

  16. June 9, 2011 at 2:26 AM

    A wise and witty poem. We must look further than external appearance – a good lesson learned.

  17. June 9, 2011 at 12:32 PM

    Fun. I cracked up at “It runs from brown to purple and is textured like a pea” – I don’t know why, but that line struck me as particularly funny. Jenny’s lucky to have you. Thanks for the great message wrapped in a smile.

    Richard

  18. June 11, 2011 at 5:26 PM

    Just when I needed a pick-me-up . . . there you are with loads of sage advice for the entree and piles of humor for dessert. You are in a class by yourself, V.B.

  19. June 11, 2011 at 9:55 PM

    Thanks to all for the nice comments…this piece is one of my favorites. Vb

  20. June 12, 2011 at 3:07 AM

    What a refreshing attitude! Nice verse!

  21. June 12, 2011 at 3:26 AM

    I came by to congratulate you, but got distracted by your fun verse!

    Anyway, congratulations to you for being this week’s Limerick of the Week!. Your limerick made me laugh out loud! A well-deserved win!

  22. June 12, 2011 at 2:20 PM

    this was very cute

  23. June 12, 2011 at 2:26 PM

    I could not have enjoyed this more. Not only entertaining, it tells an ultimate truth, shares a valuable sentiment.

  24. June 12, 2011 at 4:14 PM

    A very truthful, but witty tale. Perfect for a Sunday afternoon chuckle.

    Nicely done!

  25. June 12, 2011 at 4:23 PM

    🙂 – This is wonderful, I loved it!

  26. June 12, 2011 at 5:49 PM

    I like this poem! Its cute and its a feel good type of poem.

  27. June 12, 2011 at 7:17 PM

    What a beautifully strong message. so true that perfection is not a virtue, nor imperfection a sin. Both just are. And anyway what is ‘perfection’ anyway? I like your poem a lot.

  28. June 12, 2011 at 9:33 PM

    Love the vivid detail and splash of humor mixed in with a strong message.

  29. June 13, 2011 at 3:00 AM

    well done Vb, on so many planes!

  30. June 13, 2011 at 12:27 PM

    If everybody judged people without consideration to their looks, the world would be a better place.

  31. June 14, 2011 at 11:53 AM

    very true.

  32. June 15, 2011 at 10:59 AM

    Haha, this was great.

  33. July 27, 2011 at 3:06 AM

    Still missing you! Hope you’re okay!

    • July 28, 2011 at 8:57 PM

      Doing great, still on hiatus…thanks for asking. Best wishes, Vb

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

